The Student News Site of Sunny Hills High School

The Accolade

The Student News Site of Sunny Hills High School

The Accolade

The Student News Site of Sunny Hills High School

The Accolade

Staff Editorial: School administrators deserve praise for shifting drill schedule to add in a break afterward
Staff Editorial: School administrators deserve praise for shifting drill schedule to add in a break afterward
September 19, 2022
Staff Editorial: Lunch starting first before break opens up new opportunities for ASB, other electives
Staff Editorial: Lunch starting first before break opens up new opportunities for ASB, other electives
May 16, 2022
Staff Editorial: Craig Weinreichs deep roots here make for a worthy hire
Staff Editorial: Craig Weinreich's deep roots here make for a worthy hire
May 9, 2022
Staff Editorial: Stay for lunch during IFF
Staff Editorial: Stay for lunch during IFF
March 17, 2022
An artists rendition of the image of a true clean girl — minimal makeup and jewelry, pale and clear skin and slicked-back hair.
The toxicities of becoming a ‘clean girl’: TikTok trend rips women of color of their culture
Irene Sheen, Special Sections Editor • September 20, 2022
Staff Editorial: School administrators deserve praise for shifting drill schedule to add in a break afterward
Staff Editorial: School administrators deserve praise for shifting drill schedule to add in a break afterward
The Accolade Editorial Board September 19, 2022
Once a journalist, always an activist
Once a journalist, always an activist
Krishna Thaker, Special Sections Editor • May 31, 2022
Senior Rida Zar and members of her family pray at the shrine of Bibi Masuma during a trip to Iran in March.
Trip to Iran opened my eyes to my heritage
Rida Zar, Opinion Editor • May 27, 2022
Reporter’s notebook: A reflection on my journey as a journalist
Reporter’s notebook: A reflection on my journey as a journalist
Michelle Sheen, Editor-in-Chief • May 27, 2022
The Accolade helped me hit a home run
The Accolade helped me hit a home run
Nevya Patel, News Editor • May 27, 2022
‘IB’elieved in my future
‘IB’elieved in my future
Divya Bharadwaj, Feature Editor • May 27, 2022
The Sunny Hills boys volleyball team wins the Division 5 CIF-SS championship title May 14 after sweeping Carpinteria High School 3-0 at Long Beach City College.
It all started with a yellow index card: Win CIF
Henry Lee, Web Editor-in-Chief • May 27, 2022
Learning to make a difference
Learning to make a difference
Rida Zar, Opinion Editor • May 27, 2022
Pursuing my lifelong dream through The Accolade
Pursuing my lifelong dream through The Accolade
Grace Johnson, Web Managing Editor • May 27, 2022
Actor Ji-soo Kim from the K-pop all-girls band, Blackpink (left), glances at Jung Hae-in, who plays the character of a North Korean spy named Lim Su-ho in Disney+s Snowdrop. The episodic series was DIsney+s first Korean drama to be released on its streaming platform earlier this year and exemplifies the South Korean approach to addressing relationships known as mildang.
It's called mildang, and that's what keeps me hooked on K-dramas
Esther Oh, Staff Reporter • May 18, 2022
Staff Editorial: Lunch starting first before break opens up new opportunities for ASB, other electives
Staff Editorial: Lunch starting first before break opens up new opportunities for ASB, other electives
The Accolade Editorial Board May 16, 2022
Staff Editorial: Craig Weinreichs deep roots here make for a worthy hire
Staff Editorial: Craig Weinreich's deep roots here make for a worthy hire
The Accolade Editorial Board May 9, 2022
Staff Editorial: Stay for lunch during IFF
Staff Editorial: Stay for lunch during IFF
The Accolade Editorial Board March 17, 2022
Keeping with the spirit of Student Press Freedom Day, editor-in-chief senior Michelle Sheen advocates for greater awareness and increased support of journalism programs in high schools.
Using my voice with student press freedom
Michelle Sheen, Editor-in-Chief • March 4, 2022
As the Fullerton Joint Union High School District [FJUHSD] board of trustees reviews applicants for the position of SH principal, The Accolade hopes it will choose the candidate who shares the previous leader’s qualities as an authoritative yet welcoming leader and holds visions for the future of our on-campus programs.
Students' Pal: The Accolade shares its views on qualities of new principal
The Accolade Editorial Board February 21, 2022
With the start of the new year, editor-in-chief Michelle Sheen makes the resolution to focus more deeply on The Accolade’s print product and oversee the development of “The Accocast,” the publication’s first-ever podcast.
The new year calls for resolutions to improve The Accolade
Michelle Sheen, Editor-in-Chief • February 7, 2022
Students wait in line Jan. 12 at the Roundhouse
during lunch.
Head to Head: Would You Cut In Line To Get Food?
Dominique Chang and Alex Lee January 28, 2022
Rioters invaded the Capitol building Jan. 6 in response to President Joe Biden’s victory during the 2020 election. With its one-year anniversary, Americans should reflect on this event and work toward eliminating party divisions.
On the first anniversary of the Capitol riot, Americans need to overcome their political divide and work toward creating a more inclusive future
Rida Zar, Opinion Editor • January 15, 2022
Considering the negative impact of  COVID-19 on student and teacher mental health, FJUHSD should implement more mental health resources for their usage.
Staff Editorial: Increasing the availability of mental wellness resources for students and teachers remains a necessity to combat rising rates of depression and anxiety
The Accolade Editorial Board January 13, 2022
With his Boy Scouts uniform on, senior Daniel Kong stands in front of the “BSA Troop 1747” banner. Kong spearheaded an Eagle Scout Project on May 15, 2020, handcrafting black bookshelves, both of which were donated to The Accolade in Room 138.
Boy Scouts is more than just an extracurricular activity; it’s a lifestyle
Daniel Kong, Business Manager • January 10, 2022
Head to Head: Real Deal or Fake Stake?
Head to Head: Real Deal or Fake Stake?
Irene Sheen and Kate Yang December 9, 2021
 Disneyland visitors remove their masks while in the dining area on July 15. Though tables are spaced out, workers must keep face coverings on at all times. During sophomore Susie Kim’s visit to the park, most guests remained without face coverings following the lift of COVID-19 mandates beginning June 15, which made her feel uncomfortable.
Mickey Mouse or Harry Potter? I choose the Happiest Place on Earth to have more impressive COVID-19 regulations
Susie Kim, News Editor • December 6, 2021
Staff Editorial: New Ethnic Studies course signals important step toward a fairer history curriculum
Staff Editorial: New Ethnic Studies course signals important step toward a fairer history curriculum
The Accolade Editorial Board November 10, 2021
As a result of overloaded academic schedules and extracurricular responsibilities, students stay up late to finish their homework and study for their upcoming exams, leading to sleep deprivation.
No more snoozing out on sleep
Nevya Patel, News Editor • November 9, 2021
Junior Grace Min poses with junior Stacy Kim in their matching Halloween costumes as the Fireside Girls on Oct. 29.
I’ll choose to collect treats with a mask
Grace Min, Sports Editor • October 31, 2021
Music to his ears. Accolade business manager senior Daniel Kong got school officials to create a Google Form that allows students to submit school-appropriate songs for playing on the speakers. Before that, assistant principal Melissa Stinson would play songs from iHeartRadio through the school speakers during break and lunch.
Don’t play the radio, let the students DJ!
Daniel Kong, Business Manager • October 20, 2021
Use of autocorrect contributes to worsened spelling in addition to the decline of other critical writing skills.
Autocorrect may spell out disaster for post-pandemic students
Anthony Keem, Staff Reporter • October 19, 2021
In her deep forest green colored dress, senior Minjeong Kim practices curling her hair in front of the mirror before attending the Homecoming dance on Oct. 16 at the Sunny Hills High School quad.
Hey, it’s my first high school dance, and I’ll wear a mask if I have to
Minjeong Kim, Feature Editor • October 15, 2021
Sophomore Irene Sheen eats lunch with her group of fellow 10th grade friends near the math and science wing. Unlike last year’s virtual learning when she typically spent her lunch time in solitude, Sheen appreciates the company of her friends.
Halfway through the fall semester, and I’m so glad as a sophomore to finally get my ‘high school experience’
Irene Sheen, Special Sections Editor • October 14, 2021
Donate to The Accolade
$420
$800
Contributed
Our Goal