The Student News Site of Sunny Hills High School

The Accolade

The Student News Site of Sunny Hills High School

The Accolade

The Student News Site of Sunny Hills High School

The Accolade

Staff Editorial: Teachers take a distraction free environment too far
Staff Editorial: Teachers take a distraction free environment too far
October 19, 2022
Staff Editorial: School administrators deserve praise for shifting drill schedule to add in a break afterward
Staff Editorial: School administrators deserve praise for shifting drill schedule to add in a break afterward
September 19, 2022
Staff Editorial: Lunch starting first before break opens up new opportunities for ASB, other electives
Staff Editorial: Lunch starting first before break opens up new opportunities for ASB, other electives
May 16, 2022
Staff Editorial: Craig Weinreichs deep roots here make for a worthy hire
Staff Editorial: Craig Weinreich's deep roots here make for a worthy hire
May 9, 2022
An artists rendition of the path in a college admission race between a privileged and unprivileged student.
A fair shot: affirmative action helps marginalized groups succeed
Giselle Suastegui, Feature Editor • January 17, 2023
Juniors Karen Huang (left) and Susie Kim make final adjustments to their Scrambler, which consists of an energy propulsion system and vehicle, before the eight-minute time limit to test the device at the Great Oak Science Olympiad Invitational Saturday, Dec. 3, in the Great Oak High School Performing Art Center in Temecula. Huang and Kim placed sixth in this category.
Reviving my Science Olympiad spirit after my first in-person competition in over two years
Susie Kim, News Editor • January 9, 2023
Anna May Wong was a trail-blazer for Asian-American representation in the American media. She continues her legacy through a 25-cent U.S. coin.
Anna May Wong coins the term ‘Asian American pioneer’
Kate Yang, Editor-in-Chief • December 1, 2022
An artists rendition of two different student teachers — one cultivating the students growth and the other treating them like guinea pigs.
Head to Head: Student Teacher vs. Regular Teacher
Stacy Kim and Giselle Suastegui October 26, 2022
Learning from experience: student teaching cultivates better teachers
Giselle Suastegui, Feature Editor • October 26, 2022
Teachers, don’t let student teachers outshine you
Stacy Kim, Staff Reporter • October 26, 2022
Staff Editorial: Teachers take a distraction free environment too far
Staff Editorial: Teachers take a distraction free environment too far
The Accolade Editorial Board October 19, 2022
Sophomore Seowon Han works on the point-of-sale system during her Sunday, Sept. 25 morning shift at Tous Les Jours Fullerton.
Bidding adieu to my part-time job at Tous Les Jours
Seowon Han, Copy Editor • October 12, 2022
Senior Henry Lee takes a BeReal at the beach with his friends Sept. 24.
How I manage to 'BeFake' on the app BeReal
Henry Lee, Web Editor-in-Chief • October 7, 2022
Andrew Tate’s flagrant disrespect for women appalls the internet
Andrew Tate’s flagrant disrespect for women appalls the internet
Chloe Chun, Assistant Arts & Entertainment Editor • September 30, 2022
An artists rendition of the image of a true clean girl — minimal makeup and jewelry, pale and clear skin and slicked-back hair.
The toxicities of becoming a ‘clean girl’: TikTok trend rips women of color of their culture
Irene Sheen, Special Sections Editor • September 20, 2022
Staff Editorial: School administrators deserve praise for shifting drill schedule to add in a break afterward
Staff Editorial: School administrators deserve praise for shifting drill schedule to add in a break afterward
The Accolade Editorial Board September 19, 2022
Once a journalist, always an activist
Once a journalist, always an activist
Krishna Thaker, Special Sections Editor • May 31, 2022
Senior Rida Zar and members of her family pray at the shrine of Bibi Masuma during a trip to Iran in March.
Trip to Iran opened my eyes to my heritage
Rida Zar, Opinion Editor • May 27, 2022
Reporter’s notebook: A reflection on my journey as a journalist
Reporter’s notebook: A reflection on my journey as a journalist
Michelle Sheen, Editor-in-Chief • May 27, 2022
The Accolade helped me hit a home run
The Accolade helped me hit a home run
Nevya Patel, News Editor • May 27, 2022
‘IB’elieved in my future
‘IB’elieved in my future
Divya Bharadwaj, Feature Editor • May 27, 2022
The Sunny Hills boys volleyball team wins the Division 5 CIF-SS championship title May 14 after sweeping Carpinteria High School 3-0 at Long Beach City College.
It all started with a yellow index card: Win CIF
Henry Lee, Web Editor-in-Chief • May 27, 2022
Learning to make a difference
Learning to make a difference
Rida Zar, Opinion Editor • May 27, 2022
Pursuing my lifelong dream through The Accolade
Pursuing my lifelong dream through The Accolade
Grace Johnson, Web Managing Editor • May 27, 2022
Actor Ji-soo Kim from the K-pop all-girls band, Blackpink (left), glances at Jung Hae-in, who plays the character of a North Korean spy named Lim Su-ho in Disney+s Snowdrop. The episodic series was DIsney+s first Korean drama to be released on its streaming platform earlier this year and exemplifies the South Korean approach to addressing relationships known as mildang.
It's called mildang, and that's what keeps me hooked on K-dramas
Esther Oh, Staff Reporter • May 18, 2022
Staff Editorial: Lunch starting first before break opens up new opportunities for ASB, other electives
Staff Editorial: Lunch starting first before break opens up new opportunities for ASB, other electives
The Accolade Editorial Board May 16, 2022
Staff Editorial: Craig Weinreichs deep roots here make for a worthy hire
Staff Editorial: Craig Weinreich's deep roots here make for a worthy hire
The Accolade Editorial Board May 9, 2022
Staff Editorial: Stay for lunch during IFF
Staff Editorial: Stay for lunch during IFF
The Accolade Editorial Board March 17, 2022
Keeping with the spirit of Student Press Freedom Day, editor-in-chief senior Michelle Sheen advocates for greater awareness and increased support of journalism programs in high schools.
Using my voice with student press freedom
Michelle Sheen, Editor-in-Chief • March 4, 2022
As the Fullerton Joint Union High School District [FJUHSD] board of trustees reviews applicants for the position of SH principal, The Accolade hopes it will choose the candidate who shares the previous leader’s qualities as an authoritative yet welcoming leader and holds visions for the future of our on-campus programs.
Students' Pal: The Accolade shares its views on qualities of new principal
The Accolade Editorial Board February 21, 2022
With the start of the new year, editor-in-chief Michelle Sheen makes the resolution to focus more deeply on The Accolade’s print product and oversee the development of “The Accocast,” the publication’s first-ever podcast.
The new year calls for resolutions to improve The Accolade
Michelle Sheen, Editor-in-Chief • February 7, 2022
Students wait in line Jan. 12 at the Roundhouse
during lunch.
Head to Head: Would You Cut In Line To Get Food?
Dominique Chang and Alex Lee January 28, 2022
Rioters invaded the Capitol building Jan. 6 in response to President Joe Biden’s victory during the 2020 election. With its one-year anniversary, Americans should reflect on this event and work toward eliminating party divisions.
On the first anniversary of the Capitol riot, Americans need to overcome their political divide and work toward creating a more inclusive future
Rida Zar, Opinion Editor • January 15, 2022
Considering the negative impact of  COVID-19 on student and teacher mental health, FJUHSD should implement more mental health resources for their usage.
Staff Editorial: Increasing the availability of mental wellness resources for students and teachers remains a necessity to combat rising rates of depression and anxiety
The Accolade Editorial Board January 13, 2022
Poll

Have you used the recent AI program Chat GPT?

Loading...

Sorry, there was an error loading this poll.

Donate to The Accolade
$485
$800
Contributed
Our Goal